How to unsubscribe from Facebook

+78 votes
asked Jul 12, 2018 in Computers & Electronics by ShanelWinter (260 points)
edited Jan 2
Is there any way to unsubscribe from Facebook? If yes, how do I do so?

2 Answers

+17 votes
answered Nov 5, 2018 by NidiaVch556 (370 points)
edited Apr 3

How to unsubscribe from Facebook? It’s fairly easy to do so.

From the Facebook page, go to the “Settings” menu using the gear icon on the top right-hand corner. There will be a drop down window and click on “Settings”. Then go to the “Security” tab in the sidebar on your left. On the bottom of that page, there will be an option to “Deactivate your account”. You will bring to a page where Facebook will prompt you on your decision. Fill in a short survey why you are deactivating your account. Click “Confirm” once done. You will then be prompted for your password. Enter it and click “Deactivate Now”. You have now deactivated your account successfully.

If you want to activate your account again, you can simply log in with your email address and password.

You can watch this video to see how these procedures are done:

+10 votes
answered Aug 21, 2018 by Kamla (920 points)
edited Oct 20, 2018
When you unsubscribe, do you mean deactivating it temporarily or permanently? Deactivating it can be done through the settings option, but for an account to be deleted permanently, you will need to contact Facebook. Request them to have your account deleted permanently. Take note that once you delete it, it won’t be the same as deactivating it, meaning you would not be able to reactivate it or retrieve any information. If you still want to know how to unsubscribe from Facebook, then continue your reading.

Before you delete, you might want to download your info from Facebook. Then directly contact Facebook through email or a call that you want your account to be deleted with no possibility of it ever being recovered.

Once deleted, it won’t be available for others to see anymore. The process could take up to ninety days deleting anything you’ve posted (status updates, photos, backup data, etc.). Your profile would not the accessible to others as the deleting process is taking place.

If a data is available to the both party, such as a message to a friend, that data would not be deleted for the other party since it’s technically not stored in your account. That information will remain even after a complete deletion.
Welcome to Instant Answer, where you can ask questions and receive answers from other members of the community.
...